Three songs in my head today

Prompt: Write about the three most important songs in your life — what do they mean to you?

Twist: Commit to writing practice

The guidance says to write freely, as in the first post. I’ll try this right after selecting my songs, and with the proviso that my ‘most important songs’ tend to change from day to day.

They are:

  • Neko Case – Things That Scare Me
  • Hurts – Silver Lining
  • Samuel Tramp – Tragedy Town

Turns out it’s hard to pick just three. There isn’t space this time to mention Carsie Blanton, Larkin Poe, or Threshold. All worth a listen. My three for now:

Neko Case – Things That Scare Me

This is a bright song about dark things.

I don’t know much about music. I can only tell when I like the sound of something, and I have a love for songs that I don’t know right away what they mean.

For these reasons I could listen to Neko Case all day. Her music is all different kinds of bright and spooky.

I don’t know what this song is about at all but it’s full of feeling that you can sense in the sounds and the words. There are flickers of fear, revenge, loneliness, and determination. It makes me think of uniqueness, opposition, defeat, and being overwhelmed. You should listen.

Hurts – Silver Lining

This song is a dark sound about hope. I think.

You might begin to spot a theme in this little collection!

The album that this comes from has an interesting sound of epic sweeps and sadness. It’s interesting to compare it to Things That Scare Me; in Neko Case’s music it’s the words that move me. With Hurts, it’s the sound. Silver Lining rises and falls to describe a grim and bittersweet resistance against impossible odds. It’s remarkable. You should listen.

Samuel Tramp – Tragedy Town

This song is a dark sound about abandonment and the dawning of dreadful realisations, followed by doom. You may wish to avoid this one.

The music of Samuel Tramp is sad, angry, futile, and hurt. This song is the last track in an album with this theme.
It is hard for me to understand why these sounds appeal to me right now. I don’t particularly feel this way myself. Maybe experiencing the feelings briefly, through the songs, helps me to deal with similar things when they do arise. No doubt there are scholars who understand.

As for writing practice? I expect I can hack 15 minutes per day. See if I can’t do something about all those sentences that open with the letter ‘I’.

You can comment here:

